Sweet Potato Toast – Snack Size

I love Instagram for many reasons, one of the main ones being the awesome food inspiration. One of my favorite food bloggers is Little Bits of Real Food + Real Talk, she invented #sweetpotatotoast which has become a favorite snack of mine! 

I’m gluten free and the bread I can eat is expensive 💸💸 like $5+ per loaf. One positive is that I eat hardly any bread because I’m too cheap to buy more than one GF loaf per month 😆 So the idea of turning a sweet potato slice into a piece of toast was appealing for 2 reasons: saving money and of course, less calories/carbs and more vitamins per slice!

All you do is cut a sweet potato long ways, about 1/4 inch thick. Then pop it in the toaster on high. Top the slices with whatever your heart desires. Seriously that’s it! 

I’m embarrassed at how gross my toaster looks in that picture…going to clean it when I finish up this post.

Sweet or savory? That’s the never-ending battle in my head. So I made both! 

The slice on the left is topped with crunchy peanut butter, grape jelly, blackberries, and coconut flakes. The slice on the right is a classic BLT with avocado oil mayonnaise, bacon, lettuce, and tomatoes!

I just wish I had a bigger sweet potato to make larger pieces of “toast” 😜

2 Comments Add yours

  1. these look so yum! amazing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, they’re so simple and good!

      Like

Leave a Reply

